Colombo: Sri Lanka Civil Aviation Authority announced that all travel originating from eight European countries is banned from tomorrow for two weeks in addition to the ban that goes into effect from today on travel from COVID-19 hot spots Italy, Iran and South Korea.

The Director-General of Civil Aviation on March 12, 2020 announced the banning of travel from South Korea, Italy and Iran effective 14th March 2020.

In addition, the Civil Aviation Authority informed all online carriers and offline carriers that according to the instructions received from Sri Lanka Health Authorities, all travel beginning from France, Spain, Germany, Switzerland, Denmark, Netherlands, Sweden and Austria to Sri Lanka will be banned from March 15, 2020 for two (2) weeks ending March 29, 2020.

The ban will commence on all flights arriving after 15th March 2020 2359hrs (Local Time in Sri Lanka) and end on 29th of March 2020 2400hrs (Local time in Sri Lanka).

Accordingly, all airlines are strongly instructed not to board during the aforementioned period in any of their flights destined to Sri Lanka, any passenger who is either originating from the aforementioned States or who has been in any of those countries within the last 14 days.

The Authority requested the airlines to cooperate with the instructions.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.